Candace Lee

Candace Lee

Position: Libero
Height: 5-7 (170cm)
Weight: 64kg
Hometown: Eugene, Ore.
College: Washington
Birth Date: July 12, 1984
Joined Team: March 2006

MAJOR INTERNATIONAL COMPETITION: 2007 – Pan American Cup (Fourth Place). 2006 – Pan American Cup (Fourth Place)…World Grand Prix (Seventh Place).

INTERNATIONAL HIGHLIGHTS: 2007 - Served as tournament libero at the Pan American Cup and helped Team USA qualify for the 2008 FIVB World Grand Prix by placing fourth. 2006 – Joined team in March 2006…Played in six matches during tour of Italy, entering 14 sets...Played in all 28 sets at libero during the Pan American Cup in June and July…Helped the U.S. finish fourth with a 5-3 record…Served as libero for the first weekend of the World Grand Prix and ranked 19th in digs (99 digs for 0.97 average) for the tournament despite being a back-row sub the final six matches.

COLLEGE HIGHLIGHTS: Lee helped Washington claim its first NCAA women’s volleyball championship in 2005 as a senior…Named AVCA All-America Second Team as a senior to follow-up honorable mention selection in 2004…Selected as Asics Defensive Player of the Year in 2005…Chosen All-Pac 10 as a junior and senior…Tabbed All-Pac 10 honorable mention in 2003 as a junior and Pac-10 Freshman of the Year in 2002…Selected All-Academic Pac-10 First Team as a junior and senior.

PERSONAL: born Candace Marie Lee on July 12, 1984, in Eugene, Ore…Parents are Mike and Maria Lee…Has one sibling, sister Carissa Lee…Has a dog named Iris…Hobbies include learning Italian, being outdoors and traveling…Her happiest moment in sports was winning the NCAA championship in 2005…Graduated from Washington in 2006 with a bachelor’s degree in English…Lists her sister as her most admired person.

20 Questions with Candace Lee

What are the top songs in your iPod?
Augustana "Boston", Mat Kearney “where we gonna go from here”, Robin Thicke " lost without you", Nelly Furtado "So Right", Rascal Flatts “My Wish”, John Mayer's cd "Continuum"

What do you like to do in your spare time?
Read, learn languages, lay in the sun

What do you envision doing as a career after competing for the national team?
Teaching ESL to young children

Who was your club coach prior to going to college?
Cathy Nelson, Didier Hemelsoet

Where would you like to spend a week’s vacation?
Someplace tropical, Fiji perhaps

If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?
Hawai'i

What is your favorite room in your house and why?
Kitchen b/c I love to snack

What is the one luxury item that you could not do without?
My cell phone

Rank the following types of television programs in order you like best: Reality TV, crime dramas, game shows, sit-coms, music television, cable news, sports.
Reality tv, sit-coms, sports, music television, cable news, game shows, crime dramas

What is your favorite movie?
March of the Penguins

What is your favorite book?
The Bible

Who is the funniest player on the women’s national team?
Tayyiba Haneef

Are you a morning person, afternoon person or night person?
Morning person

What is your pre-match ritual?
A nap

On an airplane, would you rather, sleep, read, work on a computer or talk with the person sitting next to you?
sleep

What is the best thing about competing on the USA Women’s National Team?
Getting the opportunity to learn from my amazing teammates, play against other countries, and represent the USA.

What is your favorite volleyball drill?
Four on four

What sport would you be competing in if not for volleyball?
Tennis

What is your favorite food?
Popcorn

What is your hometown best known for?
The University of Oregon

How many different languages can you converse in?
two, English and Italian

What was your favorite subject in school?
Italian at University of Washington

What is your fondest child-hood memory?
Visiting my relatives in Hawai'i every summer and playing pepper with my dad on the beach

If you could have one super power, what would it be?
To fly

If a movie was made about your life, which actor or actress would you want to play you?
Probably an Asian one but I like Jennifer Garner

What three words would you use to describe yourself?
Easy-going, friendly, different

What is your favorite holiday?
I love Thanksgiving

What is your favorite season – winter, spring, summer or fall?
Summer

What is your motto?
Romans 11:36

What reality show (American Idol, the Apprentice, the Real World, Survivor, Big Brother, etc.) would you be best on?
Survivor

What is your pet peeve?
Negative people

What communication tool do you use most often – text messaging, talking on the cell phone or e-mail?

More infos:
For language German, English and Serbian:
Goran Ljubisavljevic Tel.+4369910470703 Email:goran.lj@vol.at
To see players profile and videoŽs you must login
 

=> Do you also want a homepage for free? Then click here! <=